EURYTHMICS, BE YOURSELF TONIGHT

Its OK Vinyl Heads, after admitting to at various points in the 80s, wanting to be either Kylie or Mel and Kim (either of the pair), I need to admit to something I hope it’s slightly cooler.

Before those people, I wanted to be Annie Lennox.

eurythmics fronteurythmics inner Eurythmics, Be Yourself Tonight on RCA Ltd.

SIDE A:

Would I Lie to You?

There Must Be An Angel (Playing With My Heart)

I Love You Like a Ball and Chain

Sisters Are Doin’ It For Themselves

SIDE B:

Conditioned Soul

Adrian

It’s Alright (Baby’s Coming Back)

Here Comes That Sinking Feeling

Better to Have Lost In Love (Than Never to Have Loved At All)

“PL 70711”

1985

I have to ask who wouldn’t have wanted to be Annie in the 80s?

Let’s, in the style of Lloyd Grossman, look at the evidence.

The 80s was a time of boys dressing like girls, and front women who sang poppy, cheesy songs. Which on their own merit are things I will still sing a long to if they’re on the radio.

In the midst of China being in someone’s hands, or Walking Like an Egyptian, there was Annie. And she had balls.

She wasn’t remotely girlie, with her close cut, at points bright orange hair, slicked back, with a sharp suit on. She looked like she’d have eaten most guys- especially the make up wearing ones, for breakfast.

But, despite this very masculine appearance and amazing bags of talent, she was sexy.

Refusing to fade into the background, she was such an amazing performer, and I loved watching the video’s my parent’s had of live concerts and of all their music videos. I know all the words.

I even went as far as to have my waist length hair cut off like Annie’s in around 1988, and have to admit I didn’t quite pull it off. Mainly because I was 6. I just looked like a boy in a dress, and if I wore jeans would regularly be called “Laddie” by people.

Even now when she’s gone a bit environmental and tells us all to feed the world, she is still great to watch.

Coupled with Dave Stewart, it surprises me that they only ever had one number one, with possibly the daftest song they ever produced, in There Must Be An Angel (Playing With My Heart), which, fact fans, featured one Stevie Wonder playing harmonica and Annie dressed as a rather nutty angel.

Throughout her career, Annie has proved it’s OK to be different, it’s OK to be theatrical (her Diva album after she and Dave took a break from performing together) and you can kick ass if you’re in possession of boobs.

My fave on this is one of the ballsiest tracks, side a, Would I Lie To You. It has aged well, and its just female empowerment at its best.

I will probably be featuring more from these two, as its one of my biggest collections!

Leave a Reply

