WISH LIST WEDNESDAY: JAMIE T, PANIC PREVENTION

I thought I’d start something new for you Vinyl Heads today.

Everyone, no matter how big or small their record collection, has a list of must have additions which have so far alluded them. It can be due to price, or being a deleted rarity. It could also be because those pesky record labels sent vinyl into the musical nerd no man’s land for many years in the nineties and have yet to catch up by reissuing greats on vinyl.

On Wednesday’s I will be sharing my list (ever growing as it is) of things I would give my right arm for.

If you’d like to join in, let me know in the comments.

First up is an album which is available on vinyl, but you’ve more chance of seeing a pig fly than finding an affordable copy of it.

In fact, checking on Discogs, eBay, and Amazon have all drawn a blank. The last copy I saw was £300.

jamie t inner Jamie T, Panic Prevention, 2007 on Virgin Records (V 3023) and EMI (094637885512)

I first heard of Jamie T on the TV late at night, I was up with the then newborn Mini at the time and TV became my friend to stop me nodding off.

His lyrics were angry, about messed up youth drugged up to the eyeballs and despairing of life. They were raw and heartfelt.

It got me wide awake for sure.

Jamie T generally gets forgotten, usurped by the likes of Plan B, who I’ve always found had a great and gritty first album but then moved into far more radio friendly territory.

I have heard the newer, easier to find in HMV stuff  by Jamie T but its calmed a lot. Panic Prevention was all snarling, and mostly unsafe for the delicate sensibilities of the likes of Radio One.

He did once do a cracking Live Lounge where he covered Beyonce in style. Never has Bey sounded quite so rough round the edges.

The thing with Jamie T on the Panic Prevention album is it fitted very well into a time when the film of the moment was This Is England. 2007 was a long and hot summer. This pumping out the stereo slotted in.

He may not have the melodious voice of contemporaries such as Paolo Nutini or the aforementioned Plan B, but it doesn’t matter. An angelic delivery on songs such as Shelia and Calm Down Dearest would have toned down the message within the clever writing.

Can I find the thing on vinyl to replace my CD? Nope. The only one I’ve seen thus far was as I mentioned around £300, and that Vinyl Heads is just rather too much even for my desire to own it to comprehend and justify.

Hopefully the record label will bring out a flimsier copy soon to meet demand, they recently released his not quite as impressive new album on vinyl so you never know.

I guess it depends on the interest in releasing these gems again.

2 thoughts on “WISH LIST WEDNESDAY: JAMIE T, PANIC PREVENTION

  1. you must be excited about the reissues coming our way… i know i am. i have learned in recent time never to part with big money for records, as theyre all gonna get reissued, if they can demand big money, a label is always gonna reissue where possible (garbage, placebo, bloc party, broadcast all come to mind from last year)

    Like

    • YES! I prefer the originals- purely as my Other half can easily get most of the stuff he likes on original, but the 90s was a dark day in Vinyl issuing, bar dance music. I just picked up a copy of Placebo’s first release, which was a reissue for £10 on Amazon so will be scouring the net for these copies and saving my cash for important things like feeding my kids and paying my rent!
      Thanks for commenting.

      Like

Leave a Reply

