THE BEATLES, SGT PEPPERS LONELY HEARTS CLUB BAND

Its bloody half term, and whilst I love my kids to the moon and back, it signals, in no particular order: mess, a constant chorus of “MUUUUUMMMMMM!!!!!” from both, catching the boys virus and feeling like death warmed up (every holiday, without fail) and having not a pot to piss in by the end of it.

It also means barely any time to blog or go out record foraging. Feel my pain Vinyl Heads. Especially those without kids.

However, here is an album that was once thrust into my hands as a means of stopping my holiday annoyance to my parents.

the beatles beatlesinner The Beatles, Sgt Peppers Lonely Hearts Club Band, on Parlophone

SIDE A:

Sgt Peppers Lonely Hearts Club Band

A Little Help From My Friends

Lucy in the Sky With Diamonds

Getting Better

Fixing a Hole

She’s Leaving Home

Being for the Benefit of Mr Kite!

SIDE B:

Within You Without You

When I’m Sixty-Four

Lovely Rita

Good Morning, Good Morning

Sgt Peppers Lonely Hearts Club Band (reprise)

A Day In the Life

“A splendid time is guaranteed for all”

1967

Yes, it appears all parent’s have differing ways of dealing with their variously annoying offspring, and my cause of annoyance was listening to, singing along with and dancing about above the kitchen to dodgy 90s pop. The solution?  A hastily done tape copy of the above to “teach me about proper music”.

Thank god I sang loud enough to drive my Dad mad.

This album brings back many memories for me.

At primary school, we sang When I’m Sixty-Four, as a hymn hybrid. In a sea of miserable songs and much Cum-by-ya and English Country Garden related mash ups (although not obviously called mash ups back then, they were our much giggled about variations of the traditional including Cucumbers and pulling down of pants whilst needing the loo), When I’m Sixty-Four meant that our half deaf and elderly choir lady Mrs R had been sufficiently lacking in deaf aid to think we had sung like a band of Alled Jones’ and this was our treat.

I also recall putting on headphones and trying to work out the end bit after the long note that sounds like the boys had possibly been at the very substance that Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds was meant to be about (I think it’s “Never could see any other way”, but do let me know your interpretation in the comments).

I know, inside out, every lyric, the track list, the story behind the songs. The whole nine yards.

It started my love of The Beatles being given this album, and although I still will at a moments notice dance, sing and listen to dodgy 90s pop, I have also, always, come back to this album.

From the age of around 10, when I was given my first ever taster of the Beatles, I collected books, had posters on my wall, calendars, puzzles and anything else I could find. When my late Gran went to Liverpool, she sent me a postcard of the Eleanor Rigby bench. My school peers thought I was weird, but I loved it. I bet some of them, now older, have since discovered the Beatles and I hope they now get it.

Even She’s Leaving Home struck a cord when I indeed did leave home under a cloud of anger. I didn’t leave a note and bugger off, I actually told my parent’s I was going and left on a bus, and they knew where I’d gone, but I still felt I understood that feeling of being trapped despite what it appears on the outside.

My particular favorite is, and has always been, A Day in the Life. I love that it fuses chirpy happy Beatles with the direction they were moving in, more psychedelic and experimental.

The Beatles will always be a happy thing that was given to me in silly circumstances. I may run my daughter off a copy and see if I can move her from One Direction 23 years later?

Leave a Reply

